Identity

Hi guys welcome back on Consistency. I know it is been long, all my apologies.

But today I just come with a little introspection for you. If you are used to this blog, you know already so here we are going to make you think twice about you thought you knew already.

If I ask you: who are you ? Or how do you perceive yourself ? What will you tell me ?

Don’t worry it is not about you being the sum of your surrounding or anything, we have talked about it already. Take some few seconds and tell me. Ready ?

Okay what was the first things that came to your mind? Your character ? The things you like to do ? Your imperfections? Or your achievements?

What I have realised most of the time is that when we are asked to tell about us we always talk about our achievements: I am an Ingenieur, a doctor, a millionaire, a public figure, a trader, a student, a dancer, a hot cake…..

All those things are not bad but why are you defining yourself primarily with what you do ? In other words why are defining yourself with what others can acknowledge or give you credit for ? I don’t know if you get it ? The way you define yourself is linked to how you see yourself and what anchor your identity. If you define yourself primarily with your doings, it means that if tomorrow you don’t or you are no more recognised as such, you will be a nobody ? Whether you realised it or not it is the truth. Confidence is linked with self-acknowledgement of things that cannot be stolen from you or do not need other beings or things involved in it to secure the latter.

Quick exemple: someone whose highest pride is his reputation (academic, social, spiritual) will never ever be confident. No matter how strong he/she lies to him/herself. What will happen the day you will make a mistake ? Or you will be rejected ? You will feel not enough. If you check deep inside you, you will know it is the truth.

So your entire life will be to achieve the highest things, to never disappoint, to always be the best. At the end of the day, who are you if you are not seen or acknowledged?

Do you get me now ?

There is nothing wrong with looking for those things but it shall never be the source of your identity.

So I will ask you again who are you ?

Base your value on yourself and God. When adversities, trial comes your ways it is those things you anchor on that will help you stand firm. When nobody will believe in you, when they will reject you for being you, what you stand for will keep you.

Look for who you are in the right place, as a Christian I will say it is in the presence of God because my Bible tells me that as He is as I am. To truly know myself, i have to know Him first. And it is a process.

Lastly true values matters: love, honesty, compassion, purity, generosity…….

God loves you

Laisser un commentaire